France decides to tighten restrictions on visa-issuance process for nationals of Morocco, Algeria & Tunisia

The French authorities have announced that the country has decided to tighten the restrictions regarding the visa-issuance process for nationals of Morocco, Tunisia, and Algeria.

This means that France will now grant fewer visas than before for the nationals of these three countries, as the authorities of the same are refusing to take back their nationals who are illegally residing in France after being denied asylum, reports.

Through an interview for radio Europe 1, which was held today earlier in the morning, the spokesperson of the French Government, Gabriel Attal, said that the country had adopted a law on emigration rules back in 2018, which intended to bring more efficient rules regarding the migration policy.

According to him, the law set out rules for those who are welcomed in France through the asylum conditions. However, he noted that those who are welcomed into the country should integrate into the community while highlighting that the ones who do not intend to stay in the French territory should be escorted at the border.

This is the case for hundreds of Morocco, Tunisia, and Algeria nationals who are staying illegally in France since their origin countries refuse to issue them a so-called consular pass, which would allow the French authorities to send illegal migrants back to their origin country.

Regarding the issue, Attal said that the country had had talks with a certain number of countries, in particular with the Maghreb countries, to ask them to issue these consular passes.


Related posts